Share portals via a direct link or an embed code from the Dashboard, or when editing a portal in the Live Editor. You can preview how a portal looks before you invite someone to or share it.


After you’ve created a portal, simply click the Share button, or from the portals Dashboard, select the Options menu > Share.



When sharing a portal, choose security and sharing options. Leave it publicly available or require an access code or login. You can also select a date the portal will expire and not be accessible, use a direct link to share, embed it, and invite people to view or edit it. If you've previously shared the portal, you'll see a list of people you've invited to it and their role (edit, view) with the portal.



Portals security

There are three levels of security for portals:

  • Public
  • Access code required
  • Login required


Selecting "Public" means that anyone with a link to the portal can access and view it, even if they're not Widen Collective users.


Access codes

Portals that require access codes are private but can be accessed by anyone with the code, even if they're not Collective users. Access codes must be at least six characters and can include special characters.



Logins

Portals that require a login are also private and intended for users of the Collective. To require a login means that anyone who receives a link to the portal will need to log in with their Collective username and password. 


There are two options when you require a login for a portal: limited and extended. By default, the Limited option is selected. With that option, a user's permissions from the Collective control what they can see and do in a portal. If a user doesn't have permission to interact with assets in the Collective, they won't have permission to interact with the same assets included in a portal.


With the Extended option, users can interact with assets in a portal even if they don't have permission to interact with those same assets in the Collective. This is useful when there may be a few thousand assets with a particular security setting in the Collective, but a portal creator needs an exception made for a subset of those assets that may be in the portal.



Share a portal

Share your portal via direct link or embed codeCreate your own direct link to share or copy and paste the embed code into another website.



Invite others

You can also invite one person or a group of people to the portal when you're sharing it. Enter names or email addresses to invite people to a portal, then choose to allow them to view or edit the portal. Viewing allows them only to see the assets. Editing allows them to add sections, change the banner image or background color, update descriptive text, enable searching, allow downloading, change how many assets display on a page, and delete sections.


Enter a personalized message if you'd like, then click Invite when you're ready to share! They'll receive an email to view the portal.



Manage people

For a portal you've previously shared, you'll see a list of people you've shared it with and the role (edit, view) each person has in the portal. Remove people from editing or viewing a portal if they no longer need access to it.