Role templates set default permissions for users and can be selected by user and Collective admins when you're creating new roles on the Roles page in the Admin app. There are four role template options you can choose from: general user, asset admin, user admin, and Collective admin. When you select one of those templates when creating a role, the permissions for that template are automatically assigned. You can then assign additional permissions to the role.

  • General user role: Grants users basic searching permissions, as well as access to asset versions, view access to assets with empty required metadata fields, and attached documents.
  • Asset admin role: In addition to basic searching permissions, grants users permission to administrate activity that occurs at the asset level, such as commenting, sharing to social networks, creating share links and embed codes, and viewing Quick Insights. The role also has access to the Admin app of the site.
  • User admin role: In addition to basic searching permissions, grants users permission to manage any functions of other user roles on the site, including approving registration requests, deleting users, approving orders, and resetting passwords.
  • Collective admin role: This role is configured by default to include all asset and user admin role permissions, as well as to provide access to the Admin and Insights app on your site.


For each role template, you can configure view, order, edit, and upload permissions at the asset group level.