Roles, along with asset groups, are the primary mechanism for securing assets in the Widen Collective. All users are assigned to one or more roles, and all assets are assigned into one or more asset groups. When you create asset groups and roles, you'll assign users to roles and assets to asset groups. Users in a role share common permissions.


When you enable features on the Features page, some features have permissions that must be enabled at the role level. You'll receive notification of that when enabling those features.


Users can be assigned to multiple roles. If you've assigned someone to more than one role, they will be able to see assets in search results if at least one of the roles they're assigned to has asset group permission to view the assets. Permissions are cumulative.


Create new roles

As people move through different roles at your company, new job positions emerge, or new departments are created, you can create new roles to allow users access only to the assets they need by creating roles. To create a role:
  1. Go to the Admin app.
  2. Click Roles under Permission Settings in the left navigation.
  3. Click Create new role.
  4. Indicate a role name and, if applicable, a description. Check if you want users to be removed from the role by an expiration date and select the role template, which allows certain permissions to be automatically enabled for the role. The general user role will be selected by default. (Note that role templates can be selected only when you're creating new roles.)
  5. On the Available Applications page, choose the apps the role can access and customize app permissions for the selected roles.
  6. On the Available Asset Groups page, choose the asset groups the role can access. Create an asset group if the asset group you want to assign the role to isn't listed.
  7. On the Available Upload Profiles page, choose the upload profiles the role can upload to. Create an upload profile if the upload profile you want to assign the role to isn't listed.
  8. On the Available Order Profile options page, choose the order profile options, the asset limit per order, and the asset limit per user for the role.
  9. On the Available Order Options page, choose the conversion formats and delivery methods the role can use. Create a conversion format or delivery method if the conversion format or delivery method you want to assign the role to isn't listed.
  10. On the Registration Codes & System Messages page, choose the registration code that will assign users to the role and select system messages the role can view. Create a system message or registration code if the ones you want aren't listed.
  11. Click Finish & Review.

Duplicate roles

If you'd like other roles you create to have the same or similar base permissions as an existing role, we recommend duplicating the existing role. From there, it's easy to make adjustments to the permissions. When you create duplicates of existing roles, current user and app permissions, registration codes, and access to system messages are applied. This simplifies the process of creating new roles since existing permissions and access are similar.

To duplicate a role:
  1. Go to the Admin app.
  2. Click Roles under Permission Settings in the left navigation.
  3. Click Duplicate for the role you want to copy. A copy of the role name followed by "copy" displays below the existing role.
  4. Click View, Edit, or Edit Permissions to see information about the role that has been applied, to edit the role name or description, and to edit permissions for the role.

View current roles

When you're interested in learning about current permissions for an existing role, click View on the Roles page to see those permissions and make changes to them.

Edit roles

If you need to update role names or descriptions, or if you need to remove users from a role by an expiration date, or if the role should automatically inherit new permissions, you'll want to edit the role. To do that:

  1. Go to the Admin app.
  2. Click Roles under Permission Settings in the left navigation.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Edit the name and/or description, then check if users should be removed from the role by an expiration date or if they should automatically inherit new permissions assigned to the role.
  5. Click Update when you're done or Update and Edit Permissions to update permissions for the role.

Edit permissions for roles

From time to time, you may need to update or remove permissions that apply to a role. To edit permissions for an existing role:

  1. Go to the Admin app.
  2. Click Roles under Permission Settings in the left navigations.
  3. Click Edit Permissions for the role you'd like to update, then choose the appropriate tab to update the permissions.
  4. Click Return to Roles.