Assets conflict when files you're uploading have the same filename as assets that are already in your site.
Whether or not assets conflict depends on the filenaming strategy used for assets. If they include file extensions, assets with the same filename and different extensions (e.g., tulips.jpg and tulips.tif) will not conflict because the extensions differ. If extensions aren't used, assets with the same filename and different extensions will conflict because the filename before the extension is the same. If tulips.jpg is uploaded and tulips.tif already exists, and extensions aren't used, a conflict will result.
As a Widen Collective admin, you can choose to have file extensions included or excluded. By default, extensions are included. Contact the Widen Central Support team to have extensions excluded.
Resolve conflicting assets
Conflicting assets can be resolved so assets can be added to your site. They can be resolved in the Conflicted Uploaded Assets table on the Uploads page or, if you're a Collective admin, in Upload Settings > Upload assets in the left navigation of the Admin app.
There are several options for resolving conflicting assets:
- Delete the existing asset
- View the existing asset's details
- Rename the existing asset
- Delete the conflicting asset
- Rename the conflicting asset
- Add the conflicting asset as a version
- Add the conflicting asset and the asset's metadata, categories, and asset groups as a version
Conflicting assets and upload profiles
You can create upload profiles and set version preferences so that when assets conflict, only the assets will automatically be added as versions or so that the assets and their metadata will be added as versions. You can also choose to not add conflicting assets as versions at all and have users resolve them.
Do not automatically add conflicted uploads
When you choose to not automatically add conflicted uploads, conflicts will not be added as versions of existing assets and they'll be listed in the Conflicted Uploaded Assets table for you to resolve. This is where you can add assets as versions or add assets and their metadata as versions.
Automatically add the version file only for conflicting uploads
When you choose to automatically add conflicting assets as versions, conflicts will automatically be added as versions of existing assets. The new versions will inherit existing versions' metadata. Metadata from new versions will not replace metadata in existing versions and no new metadata from an upload profile or Upload Wizard will be added. The assets will not be listed in the Conflicted Uploaded Assets table.
Automatically add the version file and group information for conflicting uploads
When you choose to automatically add conflicting assets and their metadata as versions, conflicts will automatically be added as versions of existing assets. The new versions will inherit the previous version's metadata AND any new metadata from the upload profile or Upload Wizard, or if it's mapped from embedded metadata. The assets will not be listed in the Conflicted Uploaded Assets table.
If there's embedded metadata that differs between conflicting and existing assets, and if you select to add the file and group information, the embedded metadata is not inherited from existing assets embedded metadata.
Note that when a conflicting asset's metadata, categories, and asset groups are identical to an existing asset's, you can choose to either add the file only or and the file and group information.